Bangladesh T20 World Cup Squad 2024 & Matches Schedule 

Team Bangladesh is one team that hasn’t been able to perform as per the huge expectations from their fans as the talent and skillset are certainly available in the ranks but it is the big match pressure against quality opponents that forces them to choke. This year, again they face a huge challenge as Group B is highly competitive and they will also be playing against their big arch-rivals Sri Lanka who has given them a tough time in the ICC competitions earlier. Below, we have discussed the Bangladesh T20 World Cup squad 2024 & Bangladesh T20 World Cup 2024 fixtures list in detail for you to understand the challenges ahead for them in Round 1 along with their chances in the T20 World Cup 2024.

Bangladesh T20 World Cup Squad 2024

Central to the team’s strategy are its key batters, who will be essential in setting competitive totals and chasing down targets. Litton Das, with his aggressive batting style, is expected to lead the charge alongside Najmul Hossain Shanto, the captain, whose calm demeanor and ability to anchor innings provide a solid foundation. Soumya Sarkar’s all-around capabilities add depth, making the top-order formidable.

In the bowling department, Bangladesh’s strategy hinges on a mix of pace and spin. Mustafizur Rahman, a seasoned campaigner known for his cunning variations in pace and yorkers, will spearhead the pace attack. Taskin Ahmed, with his ability to generate extra bounce and swing, will be significant, especially in the powerplay and death overs. The spin department will rely heavily on Shakib Al Hasan, whose experience and ability to stifle runs in the middle overs can be game-changing. Tanvir Islam and Shak Mahedi Hasan, both capable of delivering tight spells, will complement him.

Complete Squad:

Najmul Hossain Shanto (c), Taskin Ahmed, Litton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Shakib Al Hasan, Tawhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah Riyad, Jaker Ali Anik, Tanvir Islam, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Rishad Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib. 

Travelling reserves: Afif Hossain, Hasan Mahmud

READ: ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Live Streaming & TV Channels

Bangladesh T20 World Cup Schedule 2024

The Bangladesh T20 World Cup 2024 schedule places them in what promises to be a highly competitive Group B, featuring matches against Sri Lanka, South Africa, Netherlands, and Nepal. The fixtures list not only highlights the diversity of their opponents but also underscores the logistical challenges posed by the split venues across the USA and West Indies.

They will start with World Cup journey with a significant opening match against Sri Lanka on June 7 at the Grand Prairie Stadium in Dallas, starting at 06:00 PM local time. This match sets the tone for their campaign, challenging the team to adapt swiftly to the conditions in the USA. Following this, they face South Africa at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York on June 10. This early morning fixture at 09:30 AM local time will test their ability to handle quick turnarounds and varying pitch conditions.

The schedule then sees Bangladesh returning to the Caribbean, where they will play their remaining group matches at the Arnos Vale Ground in Kingstown, St Vincent. On June 13, they meet the Netherlands at 10:00 AM local time, followed by a clash with Nepal on June 16 at the same time. 

Date and TimeMatch Details
Jun 07, Fri
06:00 PM LOCAL
Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh, 15th Match, Group B
Grand Prairie Stadium, Dallas
Jun 10, Mon
09:30 AM LOCAL
South Africa vs Bangladesh, 21st Match, Group D
Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York
Jun 13, Thu
10:00 AM LOCAL
Bangladesh vs Netherlands, 28th Match, Group D
Arnos Vale Ground, Kingstown, St Vincent
Jun 16, Sun
10:00 AM LOCAL
Bangladesh vs Nepal, 37th Match, Group D
Arnos Vale Ground, Kingstown, St Vincent

Bangladesh Winning Record in T20 World Cup

Analyzing the historical data underscores a pattern of inconsistent successes and frequent early eliminations. The team achieved Round 2 placements in the years 2007, 2014, 2016, 2021, and 2022, signaling a potential but underrealized capability to advance deeper into the tournament. In contrast, the years 2009, 2010, and 2012 highlighted their struggles, as they failed to move past Round 1.

2007Round 2
2009Round 1
2010Round 1
2012Round 1
2014Round 2
2016Round 2
2021Round 2
2022Round 2

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *