SA20 2023 All Teams Squad, Captains, Coach & Players List

In August this year, Cricket South Africa decided to revamp and rename CSA T20 League to SA20 League where six franchises will participate in the tournament. The SA20 auction event was held on 19th September where all franchises picked the top players available in the circuit to finalize SA20 2023 all teams squad. The SA20 schedule has also been announced by the cricket board a few weeks ago which shows the tournament is scheduled to start on 10th January 2023. 

SA20 Complete Team Squads

Even though the tournament is being played on the same dates where other t20 competitions are also scheduled like ILT20, and Big Bash but franchises due to the auction are still able to get hold of many top International stars to finalize South Africa league teams squad. Have a look at the complete SA20 auction sold players list. 

MI Cape Town

Rashid Khan (C), Ziyaad Abrahams, Jofra Archer, Dewald Brevis, Sam Curran, Beuran Hendricks, Duan Jansen, George Linde, Liam Livingstone, Wesley Marshall, Delano Potgieter, Kagiso Rabada, Ryan Rickelton, Grant Roelofsen, Waqar Salamkheil, Odean Smith, Olly Stone, Rassie van der Dussen

Paarl Royals

David Miller (C), Ferisco Adams, Corbin Bosch, Jos Buttler, Bjorn Fortuin, Evan Jones, Wihan Lubbe, Obed McCoy, Imraan Manack, Eoin Morgan, Lungi Ngidi, Jason Roy, Tabraiz Shamsi, Ramon Simmonds, Mitchell van Buuren, Dane Vilas, Codi Yusuf

Pretoria Capitals

Eathan Bosch, Theunis de Bruyn, Shane Dadswell, Cameron Delport, Daryn Dupavillon, Will Jacks, Josh Little, Marco Marais, Kusal Mendis, Jimmy Neesham, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Migael Pretorius, Adil Rashid, Rilee Rossouw, Phil Salt, Shaun von Berg

Sunrisers Eastern Cape

Aiden Markram (C), Tom Abell, Marques Ackerman, Ottniel Baartman, Brydon Carse, Mason Crane, Jordan Cox, Junaid Dawood, Sarel Erwee, James Fuller, Aya Gqamane, Marco Jansen, Jordan Hermann, Sisanda Magala, Tristan Stubbs, Adam Rossington, Jon-Jon Smuts, Roelof van der Merwe

Durban Super Giants

Quinton de Kock (C), Kyle Abbott, Matthew Breetzke, Johnson Charles, Simon Harmer, Jason Holder, Christian Jonker, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Kyle Mayers, Wiaan Mulder, Keemo Paul, Dwaine Pretorius, Reece Topley, Prenelan Subrayen, Dilshan Madushanka, Junior Dala

Johannesburg Super Kings

Faf du Plessis (C), Moeen Ali, Harry Brook, Nandre Burger, Gerald Coetzee, Leus du Plooy, Donovan Ferreira, George Garton, Lewis Gregory, Reeza Hendricks, Alzarri Joseph, Janneman Malan, Caleb Seleka, Romario Shepherd, Malusi Siboto, Maheesh Theekshana, Kyle Verreynne, Lizaad Williams

Captains & Coaches Announced

After the auction event of the SA20 League, all of the franchises revealed their captains and head coaches for the inaugural edition of the tournament. Below is a list of captains & coaches announced by the franchises. 

TeamCaptainHead Coach
Paarl RoyalsDavid MillerJP Duminy
Sunrisers Eastern CapeAiden MarkramAdrian Birrell
Durban Super GiantsQuinton de KockLance Klusener
Pretoria CapitalsWayne ParnellGraham Ford
MI Cape TownRashid KhanSimon Katich
Johannesburg Super KingsFaf du PlessisStephen Fleming

With power-packed leaders announced for the inaugural edition of SA20, we expect the league to be highly competitive. Our favorite franchise is going to be Johannesburg Super Kings because of the fantastic star-studded lineup they have compiled together along with the cool and calm captain Faf du Plessis. 

Team Owners of SA20 Franchises

All six franchises in the SA20 League have been purchased by Indian investors who are already running teams in the World’s Top T20 League Indian Premier League. The process went on for months and months after a rigorous process adopted by Cricket South Africa to make sure there will be no hiccups later on. Below is the official SA20 team owners list. 

Successful BidderVenue, City
Reliance Industries Limited, owners of Mumbai IndiansNewlands, Cape Town
RPSG Sports Private Limited, owners of Lucknow SuperGiantsKingsmead, Durban
Sun TV Network Limited, owners of Sunrisers HyderabadSt George’s Park, Gqeberha (formerly Port Elizabeth)
Chennai Super Kings Cricket Limited, owners of Chennai Super KingsWanderers, Johannesburg
Royals Sports Group, owners of Rajasthan RoyalsBoland Park, Paarl
JSW Sports, co-owners of Delhi CapitalsSuperSport Park, Pretoria

Who will WIN SA20 2023?

T20 is a fast pacing format we all know and there are no clear favorites as we have seen teams in the recently concluded ICC Men’s World T20 where the Netherlands knocked out South Africa while Zimbabwe defeated Pakistan. But looking at the SA20 2023 all teams squad on paper it looks like Johannesburg Super Kings & Paarl Royals are possibly the two most favorite franchises for the tournament. 

Super Kings have players like Faf du Plessis, Moeen Ali, Harry Brook, Lewis Gregory, Reeza Hendricks & Janneman Malan who on their lucky day can easily win the franchise a game on their own while Paarl Royals have too many stars lined up example David Miller, Jos Buttler, Eoin Morgan, Lungi Ngidi, Jason Roy & Tabraiz Shamsi who with the amount of experience and firepower are by far the toughest opponent to beat in this tournament. 

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *