Scotland T20 World Cup Squad 2024 & Matches Schedule 

Cricket Scotland is among the most exciting associate cricket nations that in the Limited format has given tough competition to full member nations in World Cups over the years. Their best performance came in the 2021 T20 World Cup edition where they qualified for the second round. Unfortunately, they get fewer opportunities to play against the big sides consistently but talent-wise they have the potential to cause a few major upsets in this T20 World Cup. Below, we have discussed the Scotland T20 World Cup squad 2024 & Scotland T20 World Cup 2024 fixtures list in detail. 

Scotland T20 World Cup Squad 2024

The Scotland T20 World Cup Squad for 2024, led by captain Richie Berrington, presents a balanced mix of experienced campaigners and promising newcomers. 

Key batters like George Munsey and Michael Jones are important for setting formidable targets or chasing down competitive scores. Munsey’s aggressive batting style and ability to play spin effectively make him an invaluable asset at the top of the order. Jones, on the other hand, offers stability, playing a pivotal role in anchoring the innings. Their performances will be critical in setting the tone for Scotland’s games.

In the bowling department, the Scotland T20 World Cup squad 2024 includes standout talents such as Brad Wheal and Safyaan Sharif. Wheal’s prowess in delivering precise yorkers and maintaining a tight line and length during the death overs can be game-changing. Sharif, known for his swing and seam movement, will be essential in exploiting the Caribbean pitches that offer some assistance to pace bowlers in the early stages of the game.

The inclusion of all-rounders like Berrington himself, who can contribute with both bat and ball, adds depth to the squad, allowing for flexibility in match situations. 

Complete Squad:

Richie Berrington (c), Matthew Cross, Brad Currie, Chris Greaves, Oli Hairs, Jack Jarvis, Michael Jones, Michael Leask, Brandon McMullen, George Munsey, Safyaan Sharif, Chris Sole, Charlie Tear, Mark Watt, Brad Wheal

READ: ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Live Streaming & TV Channels

Scotland T20 World Cup Schedule 2024

Scotland’s T20 World Cup journey in 2024 begins with a demanding lineup of matches in Group B, featuring clashes against England, Australia, Oman, and Namibia, all set in the spin-friendly pitches of the Caribbean. 

The first fixture for Scotland is against England on June 4th at 10:00 AM LOCAL time at Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados. This match is pivotal as England is known for their strong batting line-up and could pose a serious challenge to the Scottish bowlers on a pitch that might offer some assistance to spinners.

Following this, Scotland faces Namibia on June 6th at 07:00 PM LOCAL time, also at Kensington Oval. This match presents a more evenly matched playing field and could be vital for Scotland to secure a win and gather momentum in the early stages of the group phase.

The third match for Scotland is scheduled against Oman on June 9th at 10:00 AM LOCAL time at Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in North Sound, Antigua. 

The final group stage game will see Scotland take on Australia on June 15th at 07:00 PM LOCAL time at Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium in Gros Islet, St Lucia. Competing against one of the favorites, this match will test Scotland’s preparation and adaptability on the Caribbean pitches.

Date and TimeMatch Details
Jun 04, Tue
10:00 AM LOCAL
England vs Scotland, 6th Match, Group B
Kensington Oval, Bridgetown, Barbados
Jun 06, Thu
07:00 PM LOCAL
Namibia vs Scotland, 12th Match, Group B
Kensington Oval, Bridgetown, Barbados
Jun 09, Sun
10:00 AM LOCAL
Oman vs Scotland, 20th Match, Group B
Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, North Sound, Antigua
Jun 15, Sat
07:00 PM LOCAL
Australia vs Scotland, 35th Match, Group B
Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, Gros Islet, St Lucia

Scotland’s Winning Record in T20 World Cup

Historically, Scotland has struggled to advance beyond the early stages of the T20 World Cup, frequently exiting in the first round. Their journey through the T20 World Cup has been a mixed bag of brief appearances and missed opportunities. The team made its debut in 2007 and also participated in 2009, both times failing to progress past the initial round. Subsequent tournaments in 2010, 2012, and 2014 saw Scotland unable to qualify, reflecting a period of lesser success on the global stage.

However, 2021 marked a significant breakthrough for the Scottish team as they advanced to the second round for the first time, showcasing their development and increased competitiveness in international cricket. This achievement suggested a positive trajectory, but the following year, in 2022, they slipped back to their familiar early exit.

2007Round 1
2009Round 1
2010Did Not Qualify
2012Did Not Qualify
2014Did Not Qualify
2016Round 1
2021Round 2
2022Round 1

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *