Papua New Guinea T20 World Cup Squad 2024 & Matches Schedule 

In the qualification round, Papua New Guinea remained unbeaten for six matches on home soil to knock out Japan, Vanuatu, and the Philippines in the regional final which was a great display of character and skills. The ex-Zimbabwe keeper Tatenda Taibu who was appointed as the head coach certainly motivated this associate nation to qualify for the 2nd time in the Men’s T20 World Cup event. Learn more about Papua New Guinea T20 World Cup Squad 2024 & Papua New Guinea T20 World Cup 2024 fixtures list who are going to compete in a competitive Group C. 

Papua New Guinea T20 World Cup Squad 2024

The Papua New Guinea T20 World Cup Squad for 2024, led by captain Assadollah Vala, presents a balanced mix of experienced players and promising newcomers, poised to tackle the challenges of the Caribbean pitches. 

In the batting department, Tony Ura and Assadollah Vala himself are pivotal. Ura, known for his aggressive opening stands, and Vala’s capability to stabilize the innings, provide an important top-order combination. Middle-order batsman Sese Bau could be a game-changer with his ability to accelerate scoring in the middle overs.

Bowling, both in terms of pace and spin, appears promising yet could be the team’s weak point due to inconsistency. The pace attack will be spearheaded by Norman Vanua and Chad Soper, whose abilities to extract bounce and swing could be essential in Caribbean conditions. However, their performance consistency will be critical. Spin options include the experienced Lega Siaka and all-rounder CJ Amini, whose off-spin could prove effective against opponents unused to playing quality spin.

All-round capabilities are bolstered by the likes of CJ Amini and Norman Vanua, providing balance and options in both facets of the game. Their roles will be crucial in adapting to match situations, whether it requires building innings or curbing runs.

Complete Squad:

Assadollah Vala (c), Alei Nao, Chad Soper, CJ Amini, Hila Vare, Hiri Hiri, Jack Gardner, John Kariko, Kabua Vagi Morea, Kipling Doriga, Lega Siaka, Norman Vanua, Sema Kamea, Sese Bau, Tony Ura

READ: ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Live Streaming & TV Channels

Papua New Guinea T20 World Cup Schedule 2024

Papua New Guinea’s schedule for the 2024 T20 World Cup features a challenging lineup of matches in Group C, including encounters with strong teams such as Afghanistan, New Zealand, and West Indies, along with a potentially pivotal match against Uganda. 

The Papua New Guinea T20 World Cup 2024 fixtures list begins on June 2 with a 10:00 AM local time match against the West Indies at Providence Stadium in Guyana. This opening match against a historically strong team will be significant in setting the tone for their campaign. 

The intensity of the competition stays high as they face Uganda on June 5, also at 10:00 AM local time at the same venue. This match is important as Papua New Guinea has previously secured a win against Uganda, which might boost their confidence.

Mid-tournament, the schedule takes Papua New Guinea to Brian Lara Stadium in Tarouba, Trinidad, for the remaining two matches. On June 13, they play an evening game at 07:00 PM local time against Afghanistan. This match promises to be a strategic face-off given Afghanistan’s prowess in spin bowling. The final group stage match for Papua New Guinea is against New Zealand on June 17 at 10:00 AM local time, concluding their group stage games.

Date and TimeMatch Details
Jun 02, Sun
10:00 AM LOCAL
West Indies vs Papua New Guinea, 2nd Match, Group C
Providence Stadium, Guyana
Jun 05, Wed
10:00 AM LOCAL
Papua New Guinea vs Uganda, 9th Match, Group C
Providence Stadium, Guyana
Jun 13, Thu
07:00 PM LOCAL
Afghanistan vs Papua New Guinea, 29th Match, Group C
Brian Lara Stadium, Tarouba, Trinidad
Jun 17, Mon
10:00 AM LOCAL
New Zealand vs Papua New Guinea, 39th Match, Group C
Brian Lara Stadium, Tarouba, Trinidad

Papua New Guinea Winning Record in T20 World Cup

Papua New Guinea did not participate in the 2007, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2014, and 2016 editions of the T20 World Cup. Their only appearance came in the 2021 tournament, where they were eliminated in the first round, evidencing the steep competition and the gap in experience and infrastructure that the team faces. The subsequent year, 2022, saw them again missing from the lineup, as they did not qualify.

2007Did Not Qualify
2009Did Not Qualify
2010Did Not Qualify
2012Did Not Qualify
2014Did Not Qualify
2016Did Not Qualify
2021Round 1
2022Did Not Qualify

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *