Big Bash League 2023-24 Team Squads, Replacements & New Rules

Big Bash League season 13 is scheduled to be started on 7th December 2023 at The Gabba. BBL 2023-24 is one of the most watched and followed T20 cricket leagues after the Indian Premier League because of the great stadiums along with wonderful cricket commentary which is backed up by amazing young talent from Australia. Many of the Cricket Super Stars from Australia will also be available to play BBL 2023-24 most of the season which is great news for cricket fans worldwide. 

BBL 2023-24 Team Players List

All franchises have done a remarkable job this year in signing some excellent International cricket stars which adds a nice hype to the tournament. Some notable International cricketers scheduled to play this year are Colin Munro, Sam Billings, Corey Anderson, Quinton de Kock, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Haris Rauf, Usama Mir, Imad Wasim, Zak Crawley, Tom Curran, James Vince, Alex Hales & Zaman Khan. The major player who will miss out this season is Rashid Khan as he suffered an injury and Strikers had to name a replacement for him. 

Below are all team squads for BBL 2023-24. 

Adelaide Strikers:

Wes Agar, James Bazley, Cameron Boyce, Alex Carey, Brendan Doggett, Travis Head, Henry Hunt, Thomas Kelly, Chris Lynn, Ben Manenti, D’Arcy Short, Matt Short, Henry Thornton, Rashid Khan (withdrawn), Jamie Overton, Adam Hose, Jake Weatherald, Harry Nielsen, David Payne (overseas replacement for Rashid Khan)

Brisbane Heat:

Usman Khawaja, Xavier Bartlett, Josh Brown, Max Bryant, Spencer Johnson, Matthew Kuhnemann, Marnus Labuschagne, Michael Neser, Jimmy Peirson, Will Prestwidge, Matthew Renshaw, Mitchell Swepson, Colin Munro, Sam Billings, Paul Walter, Jack Wildermuth

Hobart Hurricanes:

Iain Carlisle, Tim David, Paddy Dooley, Nathan Ellis, Peter Hatzoglou, Caleb Jewell, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Mitch Owen, Billy Stanlake, Matthew Wade, Mac Wright, Chris Jordan, Sam Hain, Corey Anderson, Liam Guthrie, Nikhil Chaudhary, Sam Heazlett

Melbourne Renegades:

Nic Maddinson, Aaron Finch, Jake Fraser-McGurk, MacKenzie Harvey, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Kane Richardson, Tom Rogers, Peter Siddle, Jon Wells, Will Sutherland, Adam Zampa, Quinton de Kock, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Joe Clarke, Harry Dixon

Melbourne Stars:

Scott Boland, Joe Burns, Hilton Cartwright, Brody Couch, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Sam Harper, Nick Larkin, Glenn Maxwell, Joel Paris, Tom Rogers, Mark Steketee, Marcus Stoinis, Beau Webster, Harry Brook (withdrawn), Haris Rauf, Usama Mir, Liam Dawson (overseas replacement for Harry Brook, first three matches only), Imad Wasim (from December 26)

Perth Scorchers:

Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Cooper Connolly, Aaron Hardie, Nick Hobson, Josh Inglis, Matthew Kelly, Mitch Marsh, Hamish McKenzie, Lance Morris, Jhye Richardson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Sam Whiteman, Zak Crawley, Laurie Evans

Sydney Sixers:

Sean Abbott, Jackson Bird, Joel Davies, Ben Dwarshuis, Jack Edwards, Moises Henriques, Daniel Hughes, Hayden Kerr, Todd Murphy, Steve O’Keefe, Kurtis Patterson, Josh Philippe, Jordan Silk, Tom Curran, James Vince, Rehan Ahmed (withdrawn), Steve Smith, Izharulhaq Naveed

Sydney Thunder:

Cameron Bancroft, Ollie Davies, Matt Gilkes, Chris Green, Liam Hatcher, Nathan McAndrew, Blake Nikitaras, Alex Ross, Daniel Sams, Gurinder Sandhu, Jason Sangha, Tanveer Sangha, David Warner, Alex Hales, Zaman Khan

Pakistani Players in BBL 2023-24

This year four Pakistani players will participate in the BBL 13 which are Haris Rauf, Usama Mir, Imad Wasim, and Zaman Khan. There was a controversy surrounding the NOC for these players after Haris Rauf pulled out from the Pakistan tour of Australia Test series and initial reports indicated that PCB would reject his NOC but a few days ago they have given him a limited NOC which makes him available to play only 5 BBL games and then he will come back home and have some rest before traveling to New Zealand for Pakistan tour of New Zealand that features 5 T20 International matches. 

As per media rumors, Shadab Khan and Babar Azam were also offered a BBL contract but they denied the participation to manage their workload. Shadab is also working hard these days at the NCA to fix his spin bowling issues. Saeed Ajmal who is also roped in as National spin bowling coach will also work with Shadab on International tours. 

Power Surge Rule in BBL 2023-24

Big Bash League has been innovating with new kinds of rules to make T20 cricket even more exciting and with this in mind, CSA introduced three unique rules to the game which were Power Surge, X-Factor & Bash Boost in the last edition. But for BBL 2023-24 only the Power Surge rule has been given a green signal while the other two innovations have been scrapped. 

What is the Power Surge Rule in BBL?

Power Surge scrapped the traditional 6-over powerplay at the start of the innings but instead, it made a four-over necessary powerplay at the start of the innings while the remaining two overs can be taken by the batting team at any point from the 11th over of the innings. This rule was also introduced in the Women’s Big Bash League this season. 

Previous Winners of Big Bash League

Big Bash League was first introduced in 2011 and since then there have been 11 editions of BBL successfully held in Australia. BBL every year unearths some very promising and exciting young cricketers from Australia who then make their presence felt in all the other leagues happening in the circuit like IPL, PSL, Abu Dhabi T10, and many more. The complete winner list of BBL is as follows.

2011-12Sydney SixersPerth Scorchers
2012-13Brisbane HeatPerth Scorchers
2013-14Perth ScorchersHobart Hurricanes
2014-15Perth ScorchersSydney Sixers
2015-16Sydney ThunderMelbourne Stars
2016-17Perth ScorchersSydney Sixers
2017-18Adelaide StrikersHobart Hurricanes
2018-19Melbourne RenegadesMelbourne Stars
2019-20Sydney SixersMelbourne Stars
2020-21Sydney SixersPerth Scorchers
2021-22Perth ScorchersSydney Sixers
2022-23Perth ScorchersBrisbane Heat

Perth Scorchers has been the most consistent and the team to beat across all previous editions of the Big Bash League. BBL 13 is again going to be an exciting tournament that might unearth a new winner this time which cricket fans would love to see. Teams like Hobart Hurricanes & Melbourne Stars have to up their game and finally win their maiden BBL title. 

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *