Sydney Thunder 2022-23 Squad Preview & Match Schedule

Franchise Sydney Thunder has been one of the most watchable franchises in the Big Bash League with excellent home and away support. In BBL 12 Draft event, they did some good homework and picked players who can make the most impact this season and finally finish their long-awaited trophy-less drought after they became Champions in the 2015-16 BBL. 

Sydney Thunder 2022-23 Team Preview

For the BBL 12, they have officially announced Jason Sangha as the Sydney Thunder 2022-23 captain which is not a surprising decision after his fantastic performances in the last season for thunder. Having a young captain for the whole season not only has the right energy but also helps groom a young leader who might one day play for the national team. 

Trevor Bayliss has been announced as the head coach for Sydney thunder in BBL 12 and he is a very experienced coach who has achieved greatness in the English white-ball team over the years. 

Complete Squad

Ben Cutting, Ollie Davies, Brendan Doggett, Fazalhaq Farooqi (Afghanistan), Matthew Gilkes, Chris Green, Alex Hales (England), Baxter Holt, Nathan McAndrew, Usman Qadir (Pakistan), Alex Ross, Rilee Rossouw (South Africa), Daniel Sams, Gurinder Sandhu, Jason Sangha, Tanveer Sangha, David Warner & Sam Whiteman. 

David Willey, who was initially picked as Platinum Player in the draft event for the whole BBL 12 season, withdrew his contract for the BBL due to his International commitments and personal reasons. Fazalhaq Farooqi was then announced as a replacement pick for him at a cheaper price tag which might prove to be a good tactical decision. 

From the previous edition of Big Bash League, the Sydney Thunder 2021-22 team squad released some big players namely Sam Billings, Usman Khawaja, Jonathan Cook, Saqib Mahmood, Chris Tremain & Mohammad Hasnain who even though did perform quite well in helping the franchise reach the Big Finals but they made the tough calls to make sure the repeat of poor performance in the BBL 11 Final won’t be repeated. 

The addition of Rilee Rossouw, David Warner, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Sam Whiteman & Usman Qadir in Sydney thunder big bash season 12 might finally help the franchise to win their second Big Bash League title. 

David Warner Sydney Thunder

The return of David Warner in the big bash league has been on the news for months ago and initially, he was ready to ditch BBL 12 and play in the ILT20 in the UAE because of the high-paying contract he was offered there. Sydney Thunder and Cricket Australia worked tirelessly to persuade Warner to play in the Big Bash than another league because he is a superstar of cricket in Australia and his presence will definitely make a huge impact not only for the franchise but for the whole tournament as well. 

However, Warner’s availability for BBL 2022-23 might be shortened due to his scheduled departure to India for the test series in the last week of January. Other than Warner, it is good that Sydney Thunder players are available for the whole season. 

Sydney Thunder Fixtures in BBL 12

The complete BBL 2022-23 Schedule Sydney Thunder is as follows. They are scheduled to play 14 group matches all across beautiful cricket stadiums in Australia. 

Date and MonthMatch Details
Tue, Dec 13
08:15 AM GMT | 07:15 PM LOCAL
Sydney Thunder vs Melbourne Stars, 1st Match
Manuka Oval, Canberra
Fri, Dec 16
09:15 AM GMT | 08:15 PM LOCAL
Sydney Thunder vs Adelaide Strikers, 5th Match
Sydney Showground Stadium, Sydney
Sun, Dec 18
08:15 AM GMT | 07:15 PM LOCAL
Melbourne Renegades vs Sydney Thunder, 7th Match
Docklands Stadium, Melbourne
Tue, Dec 20
08:15 AM GMT | 07:15 PM LOCAL
Adelaide Strikers vs Sydney Thunder, 9th Match
Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
Tue, Dec 27
08:15 AM GMT | 07:15 PM LOCAL
Sydney Thunder vs Brisbane Heat, 17th Match
Sydney Showground Stadium, Sydney
Thu, Dec 29
07:05 AM GMT | 05:05 PM LOCAL
Brisbane Heat vs Sydney Thunder, 19th Match
Carrara Oval, Queensland
Sat, Dec 31
04:30 AM GMT | 03:30 PM LOCAL
Sydney Thunder vs Hobart Hurricanes, 22nd Match
Lavington Sports Oval, Albury
Wed, Jan 04
10:15 AM GMT | 06:15 PM LOCAL
Perth Scorchers vs Sydney Thunder, 29th Match
Perth Stadium, Perth
Sun, Jan 08
08:15 AM GMT | 07:15 PM LOCAL
Sydney Thunder vs Sydney Sixers, 34th Match
Sydney Showground Stadium, Sydney
Fri, Jan 13
07:30 AM GMT | 06:30 PM LOCAL
Sydney Thunder vs Perth Scorchers, 39th Match
Sydney Showground Stadium, Sydney
Sun, Jan 15
02:40 AM GMT | 01:40 PM LOCAL
Hobart Hurricanes vs Sydney Thunder, 42nd Match
Bellerive Oval, Hobart
Thu, Jan 19
08:40 AM GMT | 04:40 PM LOCAL
Sydney Thunder vs Melbourne Renegades, 47th Match
Manuka Oval, Canberra
Sat, Jan 21
08:05 AM GMT | 07:05 PM LOCAL
Sydney Sixers vs Sydney Thunder, 50th Match
Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney
Wed, Jan 25
08:15 AM GMT | 07:15 PM LOCAL
Melbourne Stars vs Sydney Thunder, 56th Match
Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne

Key Players This Season

Exciting young prospects like Daniel Sams, and Ollie Davies are the players to watch for in BBL 12 for Sydney thunder who have shown glimpses of greatness in the shorter version of the game. David Warner, Alex Hales & Rilee Rossouw are the top three who can push their chances to play match-winning knocks on a consistent basis. Adding Usman Qadir can prove to be a great option because we all know leg spinners are often considered an attacking option. 

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *