WPL 2024 Team Squads, Coaches & Captains | Women’s Premier League All Teams Squad

The women’s Premier League (WPL) second edition is all set to be played from February to March 2024 with five franchises participating in the tournament. All the WPL 2024 team squads were finalized in the WPL 2024 auction event which was held in Mumbai on the 9th of December, 2023. It was a historic occasion for Women’s cricket all around the globe to witness young and experienced women cricketers in the squad of all teams in WPL 2024 being picked for huge sums of money which will be going to change Women’s cricket forever. 

WPL 2024 All Teams Squad Summary

After the auction event, it has been confirmed that many of the WPL Players List 2024 include nearly all the top International cricketers from cricket-playing nations, this year it is expected that BCCI will host the tournament on more venues and it is also possible that all franchises will have home and away games just like the Indian Premier League. Last year, BCCI hosted WPL 2023 on 2 venues because all the players were coming after a hectic T20 World Cup event so it was a wise decision interms of logistical challengers. 

Tournament DatesFebruary – March 2024
Tournament VenuesTBA
Teams Strength15 to 18 players
Maximum Overseas Players6 foreign players including one from associate nations
Maximum Overseas Players in Final XI4 from Full Member nations & 1 from Associate

WPL 2024 Squad All Teams

All the WPL 2024 team squads have many experienced highly rated Women cricketers from Australia, England, South Africa, New Zealand, and India along with many young emerging cricketers from India who will have great exposure to play alongside legend cricketers like Meg Lanning in the mentorship of legends like Mithali Sharma, Sania Mirza & others. 

Below are the officially confirmed WPL 2024 team squads for all five franchises. 

Gujarat Giants Women 2024 Squad

Gujarat Giants is the most expensive franchise in the Women’s Premier League which purchased the franchise rights for a whooping price of INR 1289 crore for Ahmedabad city. 

Gujarat Giants utilized their full 12 Cr WPL auction money and picked a complete 18-member squad which is as follows.

Retained: Ashleigh Gardner*, Beth Mooney*, Dayalan Hemalatha, Harleen Deol, Laura Wolvaardt*, Shabnam Shakil, Sneh Rana, Tanuja Kanwer

Bought: Veda Krishnamurthy (30 lakh), Phoebe Litchfield* (1 cr), Trisha Poojitha (10 lakh), Meghna Singh (30 lakh), Kashvee Gautam (2 cr), Kathryn Bryce* (10 lakh), Mannat Kashyap (10 lakh), Tarannum Pathan (10 lakh), Priya Mishra (20 lakh), Lauren Cheatle* (30 lakh)

Team Gujarat has also announced star-studded coaching panel for the inaugural edition of WPL which includes Mithali Raj as team mentor, Rachael Haynes as a head coach & Nooshin Al Khadeer as the bowling coach. 

UP Warriorz Women 2024 Squad

Capri Global Holdings Pvt Ltd was successful in purchasing the rights for a WPL franchise based in Lucknow for 757 Crore. They are not new to the cricket business as recently they also purchased franchise rights For Sharjah Warriors in International League T20 (ILT20) which successfully held its inaugural edition earlier this year. 

The complete 18-member squad for UP Warriorz is as follows. 

Retained: Alyssa Healy*, Anjali Sarvani, Deepti Sharma, Grace Harris*, Kiran Navgire, Lauren Bell*, Parshavi Chopra, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, S. Yashasri, Shweta Sehrawat, Sophie Ecclestone*, Tahlia Mcgrath*, Laxmi Yadav

Bought: Danielle Wyatt* (30 lakh), Vrinda Dinesh (1.3 cr), Poonam Khemnar (10 lakh), Saima Thakor (10 lakh), Gouher Sultana (30 lakh)

Mumbai Indians Women 2024 Squad

The Mumbai Indians Women franchise which is owned by Indiawin Sports Pvt Ltd will be lead by Indian National team captain Harmanpreet Kaur. They utilized their WPL auction purse to pick a squad of 19 players with Shabnim Ismail from South Africa becoming the most expensive player at the auction event for Mumbai. 

The complete Mumbai Indians WPL 2024 squad is as follows.

Retained: Amanjot Kaur, Amelia Kerr*, Chloe Tryon*, Harmanpreet Kaur, Hayley Matthews*, Humairaa Kaazi, Isabelle Wong*, Jintimani Kalita, Natalie Sciver*, Pooja Vastrakar, Priyanka Bala, Saika Ishaque, Yastika Bhatia

Bought: Amandeep Kaur (10 lakh), S Sajana (15 lakh), Keerthana Balakrishnan (10 lakh), Shabnim Ismail* (1.2 cr), Fatima Jaffer (10 lakh)

Delhi Capitals Women 2024 Squad

Meg Lanning is the most prominent and exciting pick made by Delhi Capitals in the WPL auction event as Meg is considered a modern cricket legend who has helped Australia win many World Tournaments already. She will most likely be named as the captain for Delhi Capitals in the inaugural edition of the Women’s Premier League. 

The complete WPL team squad 2024 for Delhi Capitals is as follows.

Delhi Capitals:

Retained: Alice Capsey*, Arundhati Reddy, Jemimah Rodrigues, Jess Jonassen*, Laura Harris*, Marizanne Kapp*, Meg Lanning*, Minnu Mani, Poonam Yadav, Radha Yadav, Shafali Verma, Shikha Pandey, Sneha Deepthi, Taniyaa Bhatia, Titas Sadhu

Bought: Aparna Mondal (10 lakh), Annabel Sutherland (2 cr), Ashwani Kumari (10 lakh)

Royal Challengers Bangalore Women 2024 Squad

RCB was the 3rd most expensive franchise in WPL team auction event which is owned by 

Royal Challengers Sports Pvt Ltd at a price of 901 Crore. Smrithi Mandhana, the most expensive player in the auction for RCB has been named the captain of the franchise. 

The complete 18-member RCB WPL 2024 squad is as follows.

Retained: Asha Shobana, Disha Kasat, Ellyse Perry*, Heather Knight*, Indrani Roy, Kanika Ahuja, Renuka Singh, Richa Ghosh, Shreyanka Patil, Sophie Devine*, Smriti Mandhana

Bought: Sabbhineni Meghana (30 lakh), Georgia Wareham* (40 lakh), Sophie Molineux* (30 lakh), Shubha Satheesh (10 lakh), Simran Bahadur (30 lakh), Kate Cross* (30 lakh), Ekta Bisht (60 lakh)

WPL 2024 All Teams Captains

Some of the franchises have already announced the captains for WPL 2024 while few have still kept it a secret which is to be announced in coming weeks. Looking at the team combinations all the franchises have more than 2 suitable options available who can easily lead the side which shows all franchises have done their homework pretty well. 

Team NameCaptain
Gujarat GiantsBeth Mooney
Mumbai IndiansHarmanpreet Kaur
Royal Challengers BangaloreSmrithi Mandhana
Delhi CapitalsMeg Lanning
UP WarriorzAlyssa Healy

WPL 2024 All Teams Coaches

All the five participating franchises are expected to continue with the same coaching panel from the last edition with some minor tweaks in the team squads of all franchises to fine-tune their lineups to play even better competitive cricket this year. 

Team NameHead Coach
Gujarat GiantsRachael Haynes
Mumbai IndiansCharlotte Edwards
Royal Challengers BangaloreLuke Williams
Delhi CapitalsJonathan Batty
UP WarriorzJon Lewis

After the draft event, we can say that all teams had done a reasonably good job in selecting the best possible team combinations and some players are lucky enough to grab the big money bags at the WPL auction as well which is truly remarkable for women’s cricket growth. 

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *