Women’s T20 League (WIPL) Auction Players List & Reserve Price

BCCI has today confirmed that the inaugural edition of WIPL which is now named as Women’s T20 League will follow a similar auction bidding style to the Indian Premier League with reserved prices set for capped and uncapped players. The women’s T20 Challenge tournament which used to have three teams will now be replaced by the Women’s T20 League (WIPL) this coming year. The tenders for the Women’s T20 League (WIPL) team bids along with media rights had already been announced by the BCCI a few weeks ago from which we will come to know the actual revenue BCCI going to earn from the inaugural edition of the tournament. 

Player’s Registration Deadline

All Indian-origin players are advised to register for the Women’s T20 League (WIPL) Auction directly with their state associations who will further send the list to BCCI for final approval at or before 5 pm IST on January 26. No player registration is to be entertained via the player’s agent or manager. The players who don’t get chosen in the auction event will stay in the Registered Available Player Pool and can be picked in case a replacement is needed by the franchise due to issues like injuries or personal family problems of a player. 

The Women’s T20 League Auction (WIPL) will be taken place in the month of February 2023. The exact date will be announced by the BCCI in a few weeks’ time after selling the franchise and media rights. 

Reserve Price Announced for Indian Players

The main purpose of this Women’s T20 League Auction is to encourage and reward women cricketers in the country by not only supporting them financially but also giving them a platform to shine with millions of fans watching in stadiums and at home. The Women’s T20 League (WIPL) Base Price is defined into two main categories which will be capped and uncapped players. The reverse pricing strategy will be utilized to bid for players in the Women’s T20 League Auction. 

Player CategoryAuction Base Price
Capped Indian PlayerINR 50 lakh
Capped Indian PlayerINR 40 lakh
Capped Indian PlayerINR 30 lakh
Uncapped Indian PlayerINR 20 lakh
Uncapped Indian PlayerINR 10 lakh

Women’s T20 League (WIPL) Team Names

The franchises for the inaugural edition of the Women’s T20 League will be confirmed in a few weeks’ time as BCCI has already invited reputed business entities to bid for Women’s T20 League (WIPL) franchise rights in a press release issued earlier. However, many reliable news sources from India have confirmed that there are six IPL Men’s team franchises that are very interested to gain franchise rights for this inaugural edition of WIPL. Cricket Board has confirmed that five teams will participate in the event and till now six IPL men’s team have shown their interest so it will be interesting to see how much bid they offer to BCCI. The teams interested to own the WIPL franchise are as follows.

  • Rajasthan Royals
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
  • Chennai Super Kings

Women’s T20 League Schedule

It has been confirmed that the Women’s T20 League will be played in a double round-robin competition format in possibly the first week of March 2023 as BCCI is looking to complete the tournament before the Men’s IPL starts in April 2023. 

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *