PSL 8 Draft Foreign & Local Player List, Date, Timings, PSL Draft 2023 Schedule

PCB is finalizing the arrangements to conduct the psl 8 draft event in a private hotel but the city has not been announced yet. The draft event might take place in Lahore because the headquarters of PCB is located there. If there is one league that is able to successfully manage player drafting it would be PSL without a shadow of a doubt. There are many other leagues that are currently following this draft structure but their draft event always has many issues with technological problems while PCB has been doing it very successfully for the past 7 years without a single issue. 

PSL 8 Draft Date & Time

As per the media sources, the draft initially was supposed to take place on the 18th of November 2022 but due to some technical arrangements with the team and broadcasters along with England’s test tour of Pakistan, PCB has delayed the draft event by a month. The confirmed date for the psl draft 2023 is the 15th of December, 2023. 

Date: December 15, 2023

Time: 05:00 PM (PST)

Venue: Karachi (Private Hotel)

All the team franchise owners, coaches, captains, and team managers are expected to be present at the event where psl draft 2023 player list will be officially revealed from which all six franchises are going to select the best players. 

PSL Draft 2023 Schedule

As per the PCB media release, psl 8 draft schedule was announced by using a statistical tool whose main purpose was to give all franchises an equal opportunity based on the team retentions they had and all six teams can get the strongest possible lineups. The pick order for psl draft 2023 player list is as follows.

All hbl psl 8 draft players will be picked as per the pick order mentioned above in the picture. Lahore Qalandars has got the 1st pick three times in the first five platinum and diamond picks which will be very important. 

PSL 8 Right to Match Card (RTM)

Last year, the Right to match card was introduced by the PCB after many requests from all franchises. RT card allows the franchise to buy back a maximum of one player who they really need in their line up but due to retention rules, they cannot retain them. We know Quetta Gladiators is going to use the RTM card to get Naseem Shah and Lahore Qalandars might also use RTM card to get Fakhar Zaman back into their line up who was instrumental in helping them WIN the PSL trophy last year. 

PSL 2023 Total Foreign Players

The media sources reveal that around 493 foreign players from both full member and associate nations have entered their names for the PSL 8 draft event. Out of which, 81 players registered in the diamond category while 29 players are available to be picked in the Platinum category. The total hbl psl 8 draft players from countries are as follows.

CountryTotal No. of Players Registered
Sri Lanka60
West Indies38
South Africa25

The huge interest shown by the foreign players for PSL 8 draft means the league is progressing quickly to be among the best and it also provides all six franchises a good headache to have with so many excellent options available to strengthen their lineups. 

PSL 2023 Draft Overseas Platinum Players List

The 29 top professional players from full member-playing nations have registered their names in the Platinum Category. Take a look at psl 2023 draft foreign players list below. 

Australia: Aaron Finch

England: Adil Rashid, Alex Hales, Dawid Malan, Moeen Ali, Reece Topley, Saqib Mahmood, Tom Curran, Tymal Mills

West Indies: Akeal Hosein, Evin Lewis, Nicholas Pooran, Odean Smith, Rahkeem Cornwall

Sri Lanka: Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga

New Zealand: Colin de Grandhomme, Jimmy Neesham, Martin Guptill

Afghanistan: Mohammad Nabi, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Rashid Khan

South Africa: David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Rassie van der Dussen, Tabraiz Shamsi

Bangladesh: Shakib Al Hasan

PSL 2023 Draft Overseas Diamond Players List

Below is the list of psl 2023 draft foreign players list who have registered in the diamond category. In this category, each player is given $85,000 USD as match fees which is substantially huge for many players playing in the circuit. 

Diamond:  Adam Hose, Andre Fletcher, Andrew Tye, Angelo Mathews, Avishka Fernando, Bas de Leede, Ben Mike, Benjamin Cutting, Bjorn Fortuin, Brandon King, Cameron Delport, Carlos Brathwaite, Chadwick Walton, Charith Asalanka, Craig Overton, Daniel Sams, Daniel Worrall, David Wiese, Dominic Drakes, Dushmantha Chameera, Dwaine Pretorius, Evan Jones, Fabian Allen, Fazalhaq Farooqi, George Dockrell, Gulbadin Naib, Hayden Walsh, Hazratullah Zazai, Imran Tahir, Jacques Snyman, James Bracey, James Fuller, James Vince, Jamie Overton, Janneman Malan, Jason Roy, Johnson Charles, Josh Little, Keemo Paul, Kevin Sinclair, Kieran Powell, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Laurie Evans, Lendl Simmons, Lewis Gregory, Lewis McManus, Liam Dawson, Liam Norwell, Luke Wood, Maheesh Theekshana, Mahmudullah Riyad, Marchant De Lange, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Michael Rippon, Migael Pretorius, Mushfiqur Rahim, Najibullah Zadran, Nkrumah Bonner, Ollie Pope, Olly Stone, Oshane Thomas, Patum Nissanka , Paul Walter, Qais Ahmad, Rehan Ahmed, Richard Gleeson, Rilee Rossouw, Roelof van der Merwe, Roston Chase, Ryan Gibson, Shai Hope, Shane Dadswell, Sherfane Rutherford, Sikandar Raza, Tamim Iqbal, Taskin Ahmed, Thisara Perera, Thomas Kaber Phillip, Wayne Parnell, Will Jacks.

PSL 2023 Retained Players List

All six franchises had the option to retain eight players from the PSL 7 squads. Peshawar Zalmi is the only franchise that has retained 7 players while the rest of the other teams have announced a maximum of eight retentions. A complete psl 2023 retained player list is as follows.

Karachi Kings: Haider Ali, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Shoaib Malik, Aamir Yamin, Mir Hamza, Sharjeel Khan, Qasim Akram.

Multan Sultans: Mohammad Rizwan, Khushdil Shah, Rilee Rossouw, Shan Masood, Shahnawaz Dahani, Tim David, Abbas Afridi, and Ihsanullah.

Lahore Qalandars: Rashid Khan, Abdullah Shafique, Harry Brook, Kamran Ghulam, Zaman Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, David Wiese

Islamabad United: Shadab Khan (Platinum). Asif Ali, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf, and Hasan Ali. Colin Munro and Paul Stirling.

Peshawar Zalmi: Babar Azam, Salman Irshad, Tom-Kohler Cadmore, Sherfane Rutherford, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Haris, Aamir Jamal

Quetta Gladiators: Mohammad Nawaz, Umar Akmal, Will Smeed, Iftikhar Ahmed, Jason Roy, Mohammad Hasnain, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Naveen ul Haq

How Many Total Players can each squad get?

Each team was given the option to retain up to eight players from the last year’s squad. PCB has allowed all franchises to draft 18 players in their lineup so each team can have many options available in case of injuries or international duties. 

An 18-member squad comprises 3 platinum, 3 diamond, 3 gold, 5 silver, 2 emerging & 2 supplementary. 

How To Watch PSL 8 Draft Online?

All cricket fans from Pakistan will be able to watch psl 2023 draft live streaming on PTV Sports, Ten Sports & A Sports HD. Fans can download the ARYZAP app to watch psl 8 draft live coverage on all types of smart devices. 

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *