Peshawar Zalmi Squad 2024 & Match Schedule

Peshawar is a city of culture, great food, and highly passionate cricket fans. Currently, the KPK region is producing some of the top-quality cricketers and the International Cricket Team of Pakistan is solid proof of that. Rizwan, Shaheen, Khushdil, Wasim Jnr. Fakhar Zaman and many others are from that region. Team Peshawar is also dominating the domestic tournaments by winning them consistently for the last 4 to 5 years. Naturally, due to the rising talent and highly passionate fanbase, there has been much anticipation from fans all over Pakistan to find out more details about the Peshawar Zalmi squad 2024 and the Peshawar Zalmi match schedule. For PSL 2024, it has been announced by owner Javed Afridi that Daren Sammy will be the head coach of Peshawar Zalmi. 

PSL 9 Peshawar Zalmi Complete Squad

Team Peshawar this time revolves around Babar Azam who is the confirmed Peshawar Zalmi captain 2024. It was great to see all the coaches and management of PZ have given a free hand to Babar to create his own best Peshawar Zalmi team squad 2024 which works with his classic batting and leadership style. 

Peshawar has added some fantastic overseas players like Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Rovman Powell, Mujeeb ur Rahman, and Jimmy Neesham in the draft which gave them the firepower they need lower down the order. Below is the complete Peshawar Zalmi 2024 list. 

Complete Squad

Babar Azam, Sherfane Rutherford, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Haris, Aamir Jamal, Salman Irshad, Tom-Kohler Cadmore, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Rovman Powell, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Danish Aziz, Arshad Iqbal, Saim Ayub, Usman Qadir, Sufiyan Muqeem, Haseeb Ullah, Jimmy Neesham, Khurram Shahzad, Haris Sohail & Richard Gleeson (replacement)

Babar Azam was greatly involved in the draft process and on one occasion there was some disagreement between Mohammad Akram and Babar regarding the emerging player but later on decided to go with Haseeb Ullah who Babar himself picked and praised his high skill, talent, and temperament the young U19 player possess. It will be a great learning curve for a young player like him to share a dressing room with great players and play under the leadership of the National team captain. 

PSL 8 Peshawar Zalmi Schedule 

Pakistan Super League management has released the official PSL 8 Peshawar Zalmi schedule today in a brief press talk by Chairman Mr. Najam Sethi. Sadly, for Peshawar, they will again not have the home support of Peshawar as the Arbab Niaz Cricket Stadium is not quite ready yet and PCB is hoping it will be completed by 2024. However, Peshawar Zalmi is a franchise that has a fanbase in every city of Pakistan due to their consistent performances in the PSL from 2016 and they are the only franchise that has never been eliminated in the group stage of all the past 7 seasons.  The complete Peshawar Zalmi schedule 2024 is as follows.

Feb 14 — Karachi Kings v Peshawar Zalmi, National Bank Cricket Arena

Feb 17 — Multan Sultans v Peshawar Zalmi, Multan Cricket Stadium

Feb 20 — Quetta Gladiators v Peshawar Zalmi, National Bank Cricket Arena

Feb 23 — Peshawar Zalmi v Islamabad United, National Bank Cricket Arena

Feb 26 — Lahore Qalandars v Peshawar Zalmi, Gaddafi Stadium

Mar 1 — Peshawar Zalmi v Karachi Kings, Pindi Cricket Stadium

Mar 7 — Peshawar Zalmi v Lahore Qalandars, Pindi Cricket Stadium

Mar 8 — Peshawar Zalmi v Quetta Gladiators, Pindi Cricket Stadium

Mar 10 — Peshawar Zalmi v Multan Sultans, Pindi Cricket Stadium

Mar 12 — Islamabad United v Peshawar Zalmi, Pindi Cricket Stadium

Retained Players List of Peshawar Zalmi for PSL 2024

The biggest news for all Pakistan and for die-hard Peshawar Zalmi fans is that the management of Zalmi has roped in the biggest superstar of Pakistan right now Babar Azam into the lineup. Daren Sammy has also confirmed that Peshawar Zalmi captain 2024 will be Babar Azam. This year Peshawar has made some very big calls by letting go of Kamran Akmal, Haider Ali, and Shoaib Malik all three of them have been a vital part of the success of PZ in PSL over the years. Haider and Malik joined Karachi Kings while Babar joined Peshawar as part of the player trade deal they did. It seems like Sammy is taking Zalmi’s focus on new young players who can serve the franchise for longer periods of time. The retained Peshawar squad 2024 list is as follows

  1. Babar Azam (Platinum)
  2. Sherfane Rutherford (✈) (Diamond)
  3. Wahab Riaz (Diamond)
  4. Mohammad Haris (Gold)
  5. Salman Irshad (Silver)
  6. Tom-Kohler Cadmore (✈) (Silver)
  7. Aamir Jamal

In the Peshawar Zalmi team squad 2024, they had the option to retain a maximum of eight players before the draft but the management decided to go after only five players from the previous team. Aamir Jamal is named as another retention by the Zalmi management after a week of previously announced retentions.

Mohammad Haris, a young wicket-keeper sensation replaced Kamran Akmal which would mean he will open with Babar Azam in PSL season 8. Salman Irshad and Wahab Riaz retention give them solid pace options yet again for Peshawar. Many Peshawar fans, were surprised to see Hussain Talat & Liam Livingstone are not part of the retentions they did this year. 

Peshawar Zalmi PSL Draft 2024 Pick Order

Daren Sammy this year will be fully involved in the PSL Draft 2024 event along with Mohammad Akram and captain Babar Azam to select the best possible team combination for the Peshawar Zalmi squad 2024 PSL. Sammy was once the greatest T20I leader and one would expect him to keep the same attacking and aggressive mindset as a coach too. The pick order for Peshawar Zalmi 2024 in Draft is as follows.

  • Platinum: 6th Pick, 2nd Pick, 5th Pick
  • Diamond: 2nd Pick, 6th Pick, 5th Pick
  • Gold: 1st Pick, 4th Pick, 1st Pick
  • Silver: 5th Pick, 1st Pick, 3rd Pick, 6th Pick, 4th Pick
  • Emerging: 2nd Pick, 3rd Pick
  • Supplementary: 4th Pick, 5th Pick

With only six retentions in the PSL draft 2024, Peshawar Zalmi will be selecting the most players out of other teams in the draft which provides them a great challenge to pick players who can balance their side and help lift the trophy. Daren Sammy might bring in more West Indies players into their team this year. 

The players from the previous season like Sameen Gul, Hussain Talat, Usman Qadir, Liam Livingstone & Saqib Mahmood might be again drafted into the Peshawar Zalmi team if they are given the opportunity because those players have done well for them in the recent past. 

PSL Peshawar Zalmi Match Schedule Download

All passionate cricket fans can download the complete Peshawar Zalmi match schedule with dates, timings, venue details, head to head opponent information in JPG and PDF formats right here on Cricket Corner. The file is user-friendly so you can never miss out on the information regarding when your favorite franchise is going to play. 

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *