PSL 2024 All Team Squads, Retentions & Full Players List

Pakistan Super League is all set to glitter the cricket fans with another entertaining season of T20 highly competitive cricket with house full crowds. All details for psl 9 all team squads have started to emerge after all the franchises had earlier announced the list of psl 2024 retained players. PCB has allowed all six franchises to choose a maximum of 20 member squads with the local and overseas best cricketing talent available.  

PSL 2024 Complete Squads

The full and final psl team squads have been selected after a vigorous process of team selection through retentions/draft picks/releases/trade/RightToMatch & supplementary players. 

The complete finalized psl 9 all-team squads 2024 has been officially confirmed by the franchises today in the PSL draft 2024 event which was efficiently hosted in Lahore. 

Below are the complete PSL 2024 team squads. 

Karachi Kings: James Vince, Hasan Ali, Shan Masood, Shoaib Malik, Tabraiz Shamsi, Mir Hamza, Muhammad Akhlaq, Muhammad Irfan Khan, Kieron Pollard (partially available), Zahid Mehmood, Daniel Sams, Mohammad Nawaz, Tim Seifert (reserved), Mohammad Amir Khan, Anwar Ali, Arafat Minhas, Sirajuddin, Saad Baig, Jamie Overton, Leus Du Plooy, Mohammad Rohid

Multan Sultans: Mohammad Rizwan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Usama Mir, Abbas Afridi, Ihsanullah, Faisal Akram, David Willey, Dawid Malan, Reece Topley, Reeza Hendricks, Tayyab Tahir, Shahnawaz Dahani, Mohammad Ali, Usman Khan, Yasir Khan, Chris Jordan, Aftab Ibrahim, Johnson Charles, Mohammad Shahzad

Lahore Qalandars: Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf, David Wiese, Sikandar Raza, Abdullah Shafique, Zaman Khan, Mirza Tahir Baig, Rashid Khan (reserved), Fakhar Zaman, Rassie van der Dussen, Sahibzada Farhan, Muhammad Imran Jnr., Ahsan Hafeez Bhatti, Dan Lawrence (partially available), Jahandad Khan, Syed Faridoun Mahmood, Shai Hope, Kamran Ghulam,  Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Tayyab Abbas

Islamabad United: Shadab Khan, Naseem Shah, Imad Wasim, Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Alex Hales and Colin Munro, Rumman Raees, Matthew Forde, Salman Ali Agha, Qasim Akram, Shahab Khan, Hunain Shah, Ubaid Shah, Shamyl Hussain, Tom Curran (reserved), Obed McCoy, Haider Ali

Peshawar Zalmi: Babar Azam, Rovman Powell, Saim Ayub and Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Mohammad Haris, Aamir Jamal, Khurram Shahzad (partially available), Arshad Iqbal, Haseebullah,  Gus Atkinson (partially available), Asif Ali, Naveen-ul-Haq (reserved), Salman Irshad, Arif Yaqoob, Umair Afridi, Dan Mousley, Mohammad Zeeshan, Waqar Salamkheil, Mehran Mumtaz, Luke Wood, Sufyan Muqeem, Shamar Joseph

Quetta Gladiators: Rilee Rossouw, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Jason Roy, Wanindu Hasaranga (partially available), Bismillah Khan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Abrar Ahmed and Mohammad Hasnain, Will Smeed, Sherfane Rutherford, Mohammad Amir, Saud Shakeel, Sajjad Ali Jnr, Usman Qadir, Omair Bin Yousuf, Adil Naz, Khawaja Mohammad Nafay, Akeal Hosein, Sohail Khan, Laurie Evans

PSL 2024 Team Retentions

In the first week of November 2023, PCB opened the window to finalize player trades and retentions for PSL season 9. All franchises took this opportunity to retain players from last year’s squad with a maximum cap of eight players announced by the PCB as retentions. In PSL 2024, we have seen quite a lot of interesting retentions along with impactful trades which completely changed the outlook of some teams like Karachi Kings, Quetta Gladiators, and Islamabad United made bold moves to make sure they come on top this year after having consistent poor seasons. After the PSL 2023 retentions, here are PSL all team squads that have been confirmed so far. 

Karachi Kings: James Vince and Hasan Ali (Diamond), Shan Masood (Brand Ambassador), Shoaib Malik (Mentor) and Tabraiz Shamsi (all Gold), Mir Hamza (Successful relegation request) and Muhammad Akhlaq (both Silver), Muhammad Irfan Khan (Emerging).

Multan Sultans: Mohammad Rizwan and Iftikhar Ahmed (both Platinum), Khushdil Shah and Usama Mir (both Diamond), Abbas Afridi (Gold), Ihsanullah (Brand Ambassador, Silver), Faisal Akram (Emerging).

Lahore Qalandars: Shaheen Shah Afridi (Platinum), Haris Rauf (Brand Ambassador) and David Wiese (both Diamond), Sikandar Raza, Abdullah Shafique and Zaman Khan (all Gold), Mirza Tahir Baig (Successful relegation request) and Rashid Khan (both Silver).

Islamabad United: Shadab Khan and Naseem Shah (both Platinum), Imad Wasim (Mentor) and Azam Khan (both Diamond), Faheem Ashraf (Brand Ambassador), Alex Hales and Colin Munro (all Gold), Rumman Raees (Successful relegation request in Silver).

Peshawar Zalmi: Babar Azam and Rovman Powell (both Platinum), Saim Ayub and Tom Kohler-Cadmore (all Diamond), Mohammad Haris (Brand Ambassador) and Aamir Jamal (both Gold), Khurram Shahzad (Silver), Haseebullah (Emerging).

Quetta Gladiators: Rilee Rossouw (Platinum), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Jason Roy and Wanindu Hasaranga (all Diamond), Sarfaraz Ahmed (Brand Ambassador) Abrar Ahmed and Mohammad Hasnain (all Gold), Will Smeed (Silver).

For the PSL 2024, All franchises have now the option to select 15 local players and 7 overseas players in the lineup if their team purse allows that to happen. 

Teams Participating in PSL 9

Like last year, PCB has not moved ahead with a suggestion from the media, fans & other business partners of PCB to add one or two new franchises in PSL but PCB is making sure the six franchises who have given their full support from the initial season one in 2016 gets the most profit first without involving any more franchises. Check out the teams below and understand more about psl team squads on an individual basis. 

It was expected to see a few franchises will use their Right To Match card option which will allow them to get back one player who they could not retain due to retention rules set by the PCB. Fakhar Zaman was again retained by Lahore Qalandars through an RTM card in the platinum category like last year but this year Quetta and Peshawar have also utilized RTM options in Gold and Silver rounds. 

Teams Head Coach

In franchise cricket, the role of a head coach is very important as he is the key member of the franchise who creates a full plan and strategy regarding how to win the title. All PSL Team Squads are also announced and picked by the head coach and other management within a franchise. The list of HBL PSL 2024 team coaches is as follows.

Coach NameFranchise Name
Daren SammyPeshawar Zalmi
Mike HessonIslamabad United 
Shane WatsonQuetta Gladiators
Abdul RehmanMultan Sultans
Phil SimmonsKarachi Kings
Aaqib JavedLahore Qalandars

All head coaches are assisted by a bowling coach, batting coach, team mentor, statistician, team manager & sometimes an assistant coach as well. For PSL 2024, we have seen some major changes in the coaching panel as well such as Mike Hesson has replaced Azhar Mahmood in Islamabad United, Shane Watson has taken over as head coach for Quetta, Abdul Rehman who was the assistant coach last year has replaced Andy Flower and Phil Simmons has joined Karachi Kings. Due to major shifts in coaches, we see franchises have also picked many new players this year to bring freshness to the table and help them produce better results. 

PSL 9 Draft Date

The confirmed date for PSL 9 draft has been announced by the PCB which is the 13th of December, 2024. The event will take place at NCA in Lahore this year where the PCB Chairman along with all franchise team owners, head coaches, and team captains with their technical teams will be available to finalize psl 2024 for all team squads.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *