Punjab Kings Squad 2024 & Match Schedule

The franchise was previously known as Kings XI Punjab which was changed to Punjab Kings in February 2021. Team name was changed to make it easy to remember as a global brand. Punjab Kings squad 2024 had 16 retentions from last year’s squad and they picked 6 more players at the mini-auction event which means there is still room for three more players from India who can be added to the franchise before the start of the TATA IPL 2024. Punjab Kings team has never won any IPL trophy and in the past 15 editions, they have only been to playoffs twice in which they came as runners-up in 2014. Below we have discussed PBKS schedule 2024 & Punjab Kings Players 2024 in detail. 

Punjab Kings (PBKS) Full Squad 2024

PBKS team management this year has decided to release only 5 players from the previous PBKS squad which also includes Shahrukh Khan. The release of SRK would mean INR 9 crore more available before the IPL auction event. Their highest purchase Sam Curran has been retained by the franchise. On paper, the Punjab Kings squad 2024 looks more focused on young talent but they also have some top English players in their lineup like Jonny Bairstow, Liam Livingstone & Sam Curran who are surely gonna be in the first eleven for the PBKS team 2024. The complete Punjab Kings players 2024 list is as follows.

Released players: Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Mohit Rathee, Baltej Dhanda, Raj Bawa and Shahrukh Khan

PlayerRoleAuction Price
Shikhar DhawanBatsmanINR 8.25 Crores(R)
Prabhsimran Singh (wk)WK-BatsmanINR 60 Lakhs(R)
Jitesh Sharma (wk)WK-BatsmanINR 20 Lakhs(R)
Jonny Bairstow (wk)WK-BatsmanINR 6.75 crores(R)
Arshdeep SinghBowlerINR 4 Cr(R)
Nathan EllisBowlerINR 75 Lakhs(R)
Harpreet BrarBowlerINR 3.80 Crores(R)
Rahul ChaharBowlerINR 5.25 Crores(R)
Kagiso RabadaBowlerINR 9.25 Crores(R)
Baltej SinghAll-rounderINR 20 Lakhs(R)
Liam LivingstoneAll-rounderINR 11.50 Crores(R)
Rishi DhawanAll-rounderINR 55 Lakhs(R)
Atharva TaideAll-rounderINR 20 Lakhs(R)
Sam CurranAll-rounderINR 18.50 crores(R)
Sikandar RazaAll-rounderINR 50 lakh(R)
Harpreet BhatiaBatsmanINR 40 lakh(R)
Vidwath KaverappaBowlerINR 20 lakh(R)
Shivam SinghAll-rounderINR 20 lakh(R)
Harshal PatelBowlerINR 11.75 crore
Chris WoakesAll-rounderINR 4.2 crore
Ashutosh SharmaBatterINR 20 lakh
Vishwanath SinghBatterINR 20 lakh
Shashank SinghAll-rounderINR 20 lakh
Tanay ThyagarajanAll-rounderINR 20 lakh
Prince ChoudharyBowlerINR 20 lakh
Rilee RossouwBatterINR 8.0 crore

Sikandar Raza & Curran are two of the best in-from all-rounders right now in the world cricket as we have seen both players have performed brilliantly at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. Having all-rounders on the team in T20s provides more depth into the playing eleven which greatly increases the chances of a franchise winning the title. Shikhar Dhawan is named PBKS captain 2024 which is a good decision as he possesses both local and international experience in leading the side. 

Punjab Kings (PBKS) 2024 Schedule and Fixtures

In an official statement made by the BCCI, the complete TATA IPL 2024 Schedule has been revealed in which 70 group stages are going to be played across 10 different cricket stadiums in India. Team Punjab Kings (PBKS) will start their IPL 2024 journey against Delhi Capitals at their home ground which is Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali

Below you can see the official PBKS schedule 2024. 

Date and TimeMatch Details
Mar 23, Sat
03:30 PM LOCAL
Punjab Kings vs Delhi Capitals, 2nd Match
IPL 2024
Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali
Mar 25, Mon
07:30 PM LOCAL
Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Punjab Kings, 6th Match
IPL 2024
M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru
Mar 30, Sat
07:30 PM LOCAL
Lucknow Super Giants vs Punjab Kings, 11th Match
IPL 2024
Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow
Apr 04, Thu
07:30 PM LOCAL
Gujarat Titans vs Punjab Kings, 17th Match
IPL 2024
Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad
Apr 09, Tue
07:30 PM LOCAL
Punjab Kings vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, 23rd Match
IPL 2024
Maharaja Yadavindra Singh Stadium
Apr 13, Sat
07:30 PM LOCAL
Punjab Kings vs Rajasthan Royals, 27th Match
IPL 2024
Maharaja Yadavindra Singh Stadium
Apr 18, Thu
07:30 PM LOCAL
Punjab Kings vs Mumbai Indians, 33rd Match
IPL 2024
Maharaja Yadavindra Singh Stadium
Apr 21, Sun
07:30 PM LOCAL
Punjab Kings vs Gujarat Titans, 37th Match
IPL 2024
Maharaja Yadavindra Singh Stadium
Apr 26, Fri
07:30 PM LOCAL
Punjab Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders, 42nd Match
IPL 2024
Eden Gardens
May 01, Wed
07:30 PM LOCAL
Punjab Kings vs Chennai Super Kings, 49th Match
IPL 2024
M. A. Chidambaram Stadium
May 05, Sun
03:30 PM LOCAL
Chennai Super Kings vs Punjab Kings, 53rd Match
IPL 2024
HPCA Stadium
May 09, Thu
07:30 PM LOCAL
Royal Challengers Bengaluru vs Punjab Kings, 58th Match
IPL 2024
HPCA Stadium
May 15, Wed
07:30 PM LOCAL
Rajasthan Royals vs Punjab Kings, 65th Match
IPL 2024
ACA Stadium
May 19, Sun
03:30 PM LOCAL
Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Punjab Kings, 69th Match
IPL 2024
Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium

As expected the home venue for Punjab Kings is set as Inderjit Singh Bindra Stadium, Mohali which is good news as they always get huge support at this venue which helps players to perform out of their skin. Shikhar Dhawan as captain has a dual responsibility to not only lead his franchise but also score crucial runs as an opener to set the tone for other batters to come. 

Coaches of Punjab Kings 2024

After consistent bad performances for the last eight seasons, PBKS decided to sack the previous coaching panel and brought in new experienced Punjab Kings coaches who can bring in new methods and strategies to change the losing path of Punjab and win their first ever IPL title. 

Having Trevor Bayliss along with Brad Haddin will certainly have a fresh PBKS team outlook in IPL 2024 and we all know how brilliantly Trevor Bayliss revamped English cricket which eventually won the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup against New Zealand in the Final. The complete Punjab Kings coaches list is as follows.

Coach TitleName
Head CoachTrevor Bayliss
Assistant CoachBrad Haddin
Batting CoachWasim Jaffer
Bowling CoachCharl Langeveldt
Assistant Fielding CoachPrabhakar Bairgond
AnalystAshish Tuli
PhysioAndrew Leipus
Assistant PhysioShravan Kumbagowdana
Strength and Conditioning CoachAdrian le Roux

Wasim Jaffer has previously worked with Punjab Kings and they have now re-appointed him as batting coach which might prove to be a good decision because he already knows the dressing room atmosphere of the franchise and recently his coached U19 Bangladesh team defeated Pakistan on their home soil which shows his coaching methods are working. 

PBKS Overall IPL Wins

Team Punjab Kings started their IPL journey in 2008 with a bang when they played the semi-final but since then it has been a real struggle for them. In 2014, for the first time, they played the Big Final but lost to Kolkata Knight Riders by 3 wickets. After being runners-up in 2014, they have always failed to qualify for the playoffs which is hugely disappointing for millions & millions of passionate fans of Punjab. 

Below is the breakdown of Punjab Kings team performances in each IPL season. 

2009League stage
2010League stage
2011League stage
2012League stage
2013League stage
2015League stage
2016League stage
2017League stage
2018League stage
2019League stage
2020League stage
2021League stage
2022League stage

Punjab Kings this year have made bold decisions by changing coaches and the captain as well. Veteran opener Shikhar Dhawan will be captaining the franchise for the first time replacing Mayank Agarwal who has been released from the franchise as well. Fans are eager to see how the new Captain-Coach duo works for Punjab and whether it will finally change their long history of below-par IPL performances. 

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *