Delhi Capitals Squad 2024 & Match Schedule

Delhi Capitals team is jointly owned by GMR Group and the JSW Group who are now going globally as they purchased teams in other leagues like SA20 & ILT20. The franchise has recently confirmed their Delhi Capitals squad 2024 for IPL 17. The team Delhi was previously known as Delhi Daredevils which was not a great branded name so they later changed it to Capitals which is more brandable and professional. In the last 16 editions of IPL, they did come close to winning the title a few times but were unable to achieve the glory which has been a significant disappointment for millions and millions of passionate Delhi fans. 

Delhi Capitals Full Squad 2024

Delhi Capitals team 2024 will certainly look to forget the poor last year’s performances and setbacks and have a fresh start to finally achieve the glory they have been searching for past 15 years. Rishabh Pant is announced as Delhi Capitals captain 2024 for TATA IPL 2024. Before the IPL auction event, DC this year released many International star cricketers like Rilee Rossouw, Rovman Powell & Phil Salt to get more space in their budget for the auction. 

Even after the poor show in the last season, management has kept their faith in the majority of the players which is why they retained 16 players from last year’s squad. The complete Delhi Capitals team 2024 Players List is as follows.

Released Players: Rilee Rossouw, Chetan Sakariya, Rovman Powell, Manish Pandey, Phil Salt, Mustafizur Rahman, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Ripal Patel, Sarfaraz Khan, Aman Khan, Priyam Garg.

PlayerRoleAuction Price
Rishabh Pant (c&wk)WT-BatsmanINR 16 Cr(R)
Prithvi ShawBatsmanINR 7.50Cr(R)
David WarnerBatsmanINR 6.25 Crores(R)
Yash DhullBatsmanINR 50 Lakhs(R)
Rovman PowellBatsmanINR 2.80 crores(R)
Anrich NortjeBowlerINR 6.50 Cr(R)
Lungi NgidiBowlerINR 50 Lakhs(R)
Khaleel AhmedBowlerINR 5.25 crores(R)
Praveen DubeyBowlerINR 50 Lakhs(R)
Kuldeep YadavBowlerINR 2 crores(R)
Axar PatelAll-rounderINR 9 crores(R)
Mitchell MarshAll-rounderINR 6.50 Crores(R)
Lalit YadavAll-rounderINR 65 Lakhs(R)
Vicky OstwalAll-rounderINR 20 Lakh(R)
Ishant SharmaBowlerINR 50 lakh(R)
Mukesh KumarBowlerINR 5.5 crores(R)
Harry BrookBatterINR 4.0 crores
Tristan StubbsWicketkeeperINR 50 lakh
Ricky BhuiBatterINR 20 lakh
Kumar KushagraWicketkeeperINR 7.20 crores
Rasikh SalamBowlerINR 20 lakh
Jhye RichardsonBowlerINR 5.0 crores
Sumit KumarWicketkeeperINR 1.0 crores
Shai HopeWicketkeeperINR 75 lakh
Swastik ChikaraBowlerINR 20 lakh

Ricky Ponting as head coach did a reasonably good job for the retentions as well as players picked in the draft. They got some great options in the pace battery along with top-quality batters upfront and in the middle order. Spinners like Kuldeep Yadav & Axar Patel will also come in handy with their vast IPL & International experience they got. 

Delhi Capitals 2024 Schedule and Fixtures

In an official announcement made by the BCCI related to IPL 2024 matches schedule, we now have the complete Delhi Capitals match Schedule 2024 which shows they are all set to start their IPL 2024 journey on the 23rd of March with an away game at Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali against Punjab Kings

Below is the complete Delhi Capitals schedule 2024

Date and TimeMatch Details
Mar 23, Sat
03:30 PM LOCAL
Punjab Kings vs Delhi Capitals, 2nd Match
IPL 2024
Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali
Mar 28, Thu
07:30 PM LOCAL
Rajasthan Royals vs Delhi Capitals, 9th Match
IPL 2024
Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur
Mar 31, Sun
07:30 PM LOCAL
Delhi Capitals vs Chennai Super Kings, 13th Match
IPL 2024
Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium, Visakhapatnam
Apr 03, Wed
07:30 PM LOCAL
Delhi Capitals vs Kolkata Knight Riders, 16th Match
IPL 2024
Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium, Visakhapatnam
Apr 07, Sun
03:30 PM LOCAL
Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals, 20th Match
IPL 2024
Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
Apr 12, Fri
07:30 PM LOCAL
Lucknow Super Giants vs Delhi Capitals, 26th Match
IPL 2024
Ekana Sports City
Apr 16, Tue
07:30 PM LOCAL
Gujarat Titans vs Delhi Capitals, 31st Match
IPL 2024
Narendra Modi Stadium
Apr 20, Sat
07:30 PM LOCAL
Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Delhi Capitals, 35th Match
IPL 2024
Arun Jaitley Stadium
Apr 24, Wed
07:30 PM LOCAL
Gujarat Titans vs Delhi Capitals, 40th Match
IPL 2024
Arun Jaitley Stadium
Apr 27, Sat
03:30 PM LOCAL
Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals, 43rd Match
IPL 2024
Arun Jaitley Stadium
Apr 29, Mon
07:30 PM LOCAL
Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Capitals, 47th Match
IPL 2024
Eden Gardens
May 07, Tue
07:30 PM LOCAL
Rajasthan Royals vs Delhi Capitals, 56th Match
IPL 2024
Arun Jaitley Stadium
May 12, Sun
07:30 PM LOCAL
Royal Challengers Bengaluru vs Delhi Capitals, 62nd Match
IPL 2024
M. Chinnaswamy Stadium
May 14, Tue
07:30 PM LOCAL
Lucknow Super Giants vs Delhi Capitals, 64th Match
IPL 2024
Arun Jaitley Stadium

Delhi Capitals schedule 2024 shows that Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi will be their home venue for seven matches while the remaining seven matches will act as away games which they will play all across India.

Coaches of Delhi Capitals 2024

Team owners and tactical management of Delhi Capitals team 2024 have confirmed all the coaching staff for the 16th edition of the Indian Premier League. There have not been many significant changes in the coaching panel from last year. 

Coach TitleName
Head CoachRicky Ponting
Assistant Head CoachAjit Agarkar, Pravin Amre & Shane Watson
Fast Bowling CoachJames Hopes
Fielding CoachBiju George
PhysioPatrick Farhart
AnalystSriram Somayajula
Strength and Conditioning CoachVivek Ramakrishna & Wayne Lombard

Ricky Ponting as head coach and with Shane Watson as an assistant coach are surely two of the best cricketing minds to formulate the best possible strategy for Delhi to win their first ever IPL title. I believe Shane Watson will also act as a batting coach because of the vast T20 experience he got. The coaching panel of DC is good enough to manage Delhi Capitals squad 2024 effectively and with a clear and-cut strategy to win. 

DC Overall IPL Wins

As mentioned earlier, DC has never won any IPL title so far but they have reached the playoffs stage six times but were unable to clinch the trophy. Rishabh Pant as a leader for DC is still in a learning phase and this will be the third time he will lead Delhi in IPL. Below is a breakdown of Delhi Capitals IPL performance every year. 

2010League stage
2011League stage
2013League stage
2014League stage
2015League stage
2016League stage
2017League stage
2018League stage
2020Runners up
2022League stage

In 2018, Delhi decided to rope in Ricky Ponting as the head coach and under him they did play the final one time which they lost in 2020. Delhi team owners will surely want their team to repeat their efforts of IPL 2020 in the coming edition of IPL but this time with a trophy under their belt so they can finally join the CHAMPIONS group of IPL which is not that big, to be honest since Mumbai Indians won 5 times & Chennai Super Kings won 4 times. 

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *